Spiva Center for the Arts Joplin MO Logo


About PhotoSpiva

PhotoSpiva is a national competition hosted annually by Spiva Center for the Arts. Founded in 1977, PhotoSpiva has become the longest-running photographic competition of its kind in the U.S. As stated by the founders, the objective of PhotoSpiva is to “present an exhibition of excellence in photography, celebrating the scope and vigorous activity of today’s contemporary photographers.”

Co-Founder Jim Mueller stated, “We have intentionally avoided any categorization of either photographers or their work in setting forth the criteria for this competitive.” PhotoSpiva welcomes any photographic process as long as it is original artwork and has not been previously exhibited at Spiva Center for the Arts. This philosophy has created an unbiased forum for exhibiting and educating photographers. The PhotoSpiva prospectus, promotional materials and exhibition brochures are distributed to professional photographers, emerging artists, educators, students, and amateur photography enthusiasts throughout the United States.

Learn more at photospiva.org




PhotoSpiva 2021 Artists

Norman Aragones, San Jose, CA
Robin Bailey, Rolling Meadows, IL
Brandin BarĂ³n, San Francisco, CA
Lauren Bryan, Webb City, MO
Barrie Lynn Bryant, Kirby, WY
Russ Butner, Vancouver, WA
Patrick Carr, Evanston, IL
Elena Clarke-Manandise, Tallahassee, FL
Sarah Clements, Joplin, MO
Greta Cross, Springfield, MO
Lori Decker, Rogersville, MO
Paul Dwyer, Joplin, MO
Ron Erwin, Joplin, MO
Morgan Ford Willingham, Emporia, KS
Dennis Geller, Melrose, MA
Nicole Gomric, Emporia, KS
George Gonzalez, Miami, FL
Marita Gootee, Mississipppi State, MS
Johanna Grasso, Anchorage, AK
Becker Griffin, Stilwell, KS
Darla Hare, Pierce City, MO
Sue Hartley, Monticello, MN
Carol Hayman, Austin, TX
Robert Hein, Frostburg, MD
Martyn Howgill, Overland Park, KS
Rion Huffman, Pittsburg, KS
Peter Hui, Redmond, WA
Tarah Jansen, Olathe, KS
Jeremy Janus, Denver, CO
Mercedes Jelinek, Brooklyn, NY
Sonia Kahlon, Philadelphia, PA
Jim Lustenader, Hanover, NH
Kayla Masisak, Lansing, KS
Peter Milder, Alexandria, LA
George J. Miller, Whitewater, WI
Christine Miller, Whitewater, WI
Charles Mintz, Cleveland, OH
Michael Nowotny, Milwaukee, WI
Denise Ollman, Burleson, TX
Jon Onstot, Peculiar, MO
Jelisa Peterson, Austin, TX
Donna Pinckley, Little Rock, AR
Jerry Rawlings, Spearfish, SD
Russ Revock, Cleveland, OH
Dena Sanders, Kansas City, MO
Jeff Sass, St. Louis, MO
Dennis Segers, Carmel, CA
Foad Seyed Mohammadi, Gainesville, FL
Yaniv Sherman, Alameda, CA
Sara Silks, Overland Park, KS
Emily Sloan, Kansas City, MO
Jay Slupesky, Wilsonville, OR
Whitney Stanley, Durham, NC
Robert Sulkin, Roanoke, VA
Bill Thomas, Kansas City, MO
John R. Van Beekum, Miami Shores, FL
Gwen Walstrand, Springfield, MO
Bradley Wicklander, Overland Park, KS
Bailey Wilhelm, Springfield, MO
Ronald Wilson, Waynesville, OH
Tom Wise, Placitas, NM

"Celebrate the creative experience - be a community catalyst."